Promotions, and Expos, and Exhibits, Oh My!

The first half of this week was much the same as the last; I made info bits, which are one-page summaries of findings and advice using data from FNRI’s National Nutrition Surveys and R&D Department, written for the layman Filipino. Wednesday and yesterday, however, Kate and I accompanied another member of the promotions team, Sir Budz, to the SM Megamall in Mandaluyog City, Metro Manila. We helped to set up and man an FNRI exhibit at an event called the Negosyo Fair. Negosyo means “business” in Tagalog, and is adapted from the word “negotiate”.

There were a lot of entrepreneurs and businessespeople, and it was put on by the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI). The Department of Science and Technology (DOST) was there as well, which is the department that FNRI belongs to. The hardest part of manning the exhibit was trying to articulate all of the things that FNRI does in a short amount of time. Near the beginning of the show, a nice Australian businessman asked me if all FNRI developed foods are rice-based and I started panicking and flashing him all 15 of the brochures we had. While I’m sure I gave him way more information than he wanted or needed,  he was very kind about it. Besides that awkward interaction, it was interesting to see some of the work FNRI does to spread awareness of its products and services.

The mall itself was quite fun to explore. It was gigantic, with 5 stories and very spread out. There are two buildings, but we only explored one of them. We got lost trying to find a restaurant the second day, but we finally found a place, and it was a Mexican restaurant too! While it was comforting to have taquitos for the first time in a long time, we soon had to leave the Megamall. Now that I’ve had this experience, I’m curious to see how future expos will be, and I think I’m ready to see how some of the campus tours go now.

One thought on “Promotions, and Expos, and Exhibits, Oh My!

  1. Hi Ross – This is Charlotte, staying with Aunt Rosemary and Jan. Loved reading about what you are seeing and doing while in the Philippines. Ann Schertz was just here with Aunt Margaret and Aunt Genny and she told me how to find your blogs. All are well here and send their greetings to you. I hope you really enjoy your time in the Philippines and learn a lot – sounds like that is happening already. I spent 3 1/2 months in Costa Rica when I was about your age and it impacted my life forever. What a great experience it was for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

